BlackBerry Partners Fund Invests in Xobni and we’ve launched Xobni 1.7. No more Beta!

xobni1_7_checklistIn early January we announced that Xobni completed a $7 million Series B led by Cisco Systems. Today we are happy to announce that BlackBerry Partners Fund has also joined our Series B, increasing the total investment round to over $10 million. See the official press release here. Additionally, BlackBerry Partners Fund partner Rick Segal will be joining our board of directors. We’d like to officially welcome Rick to the team.

This investment will allow us to strengthen our service and extend Xobni to new platforms for our customers. The next stage of development will focus on the launch of our premium service later this summer.

This funding announcement comes at a time when we have other very exciting news to share. Today Xobni goes “gold.” The beta label is coming off and version 1.7 is now available to everyone.
Download or upgrade to the newest version by clicking below.

Download Xobni

After almost one year of beta testing Xobni, we have digested feedback from tens of thousands of users and improved our product to a point where we are confident that it solves our users’ needs with a high level of performance and consistency. Of course Xobni will never stop improving. For all of us, this is just the beginning.

What’s New in Xobni 1.7

Since our public beta launch in May 2008, we have been working to optimize speed and performance. The new version of Xobni makes the following significant improvements:

  • Outlook now starts 31% faster*
    • Additionally, you now have the choice to make Xobni start immediately with Outlook, or start only when you want to use Xobni
  • Xobni Profiles now load 42% faster*
    • We’ve cached profile data, so Xobni stays out of the way of Outlook when it is doing its thing
  • More performance controls
    • Users can control how often and how much data Xobni indexes
    • Users can control when Xobni is running

* Users with large inboxes will experience more dramatic improvements. We made these improvements for you!

We’ve also fixed multiple software incompatibilities with Xobni. Xobni no longer conflicts with the following software:

  • Microsoft Business Contact Manager
  • Microsoft Dynamics CRM
  • Avaya voice email products (V5 and above)
  • Blackberry w/ Blackberry Desktop Software
  • MobileMe
  • Microsoft Office Communicator
  • McAfee Enterprise VirusScan (V8.5 and above)
  • Cisco Security Agent (V6.0 and above)

In case you missed it, this work follows continuous improvements to our core product over the last year including recent integrations with leading content providers including LinkedIn, Facebook, Yahoo! Mail, Skype and Hoover’s.

If you are not currently using Xobni, download it for free here.

Existing Xobni users can update to the newest version by downloading the new installer here (note: this will run an update on your machine and won’t require reinstalling or re-indexing if you are using version 1.6) All users will be automatically updated over the next several weeks.

Thanks for your continued support.

62 Responses to “BlackBerry Partners Fund Invests in Xobni and we’ve launched Xobni 1.7. No more Beta!”


  1. 1 Daniel Raffel March 25, 2009 at 12:49 am

    That’s two bits of great news, congrats! I’m looking forwarding to getting to work tomorrow and upgrading.

  2. 2 thommck March 25, 2009 at 8:13 am

    I am loving the new version of Xobni.
    We use Scalix as an MS Exchange alternative and Xobni v1.6 didn’t like it much.
    However with v1.7 everything seems to be working, including the Facebook/LinkedIn intergration which I find really useful. The new performance settings are great too.

    I just need to be able to use Xobni in the Windows Live Mail desktop client and then I will be a very happy bunny 😉

  3. 3 Mark March 25, 2009 at 11:16 am

    Just upgraded to 1.7 this morning, and it is blazing fast. Yay! I was struggling with 1.6, as it was really slowing my system down (but I loved it so much I decided it was worth removing it). I’ve noticed that I can now “minimize” the bar without any delay (it often used to freeze up the system), and I no longer get the flickering emails when I hover over a thread. Great work guys!!!

  4. 4 Mark March 25, 2009 at 11:18 am

    Oops — correction — “I decided it *wasn’t* worth removing it”.

  5. 5 Tony March 25, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    Any chance of a Mac Entourage version – I miss xobni since I had to switch to Mac.

  6. 6 Bob Davis March 25, 2009 at 10:10 pm

    Am running 1.4. Apparently did not update automatically. Can I update to 1.7 without reindexing? Or do I start from scratch? If I start from scratch, how do I make sure that my old index is wiped out (to save the space)?

    Thanks,

    Bob

  7. 7 Phil v. Sassen March 26, 2009 at 1:50 pm

    Great news!

    PS:
    Unfortunately xobni didn’t use the former index and reindex my entire Outlook 2K file … #strange

  8. 8 Wayne March 26, 2009 at 4:19 pm

    Download works but install fails with “Installer integrity check failure” error.

  9. 9 JoeG March 26, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    Yeah I am getting the same error as Wayne. Interesting as well is the fact that the download is almost instantaneous. I’m thinking the installer got overwritten by a bad file.

  10. 10 filc March 26, 2009 at 4:43 pm

    Integrity check fails.

    Tried from 3 different browsers from 3 different geographical locations.

  11. 11 Matt March 26, 2009 at 5:54 pm

    hey guys, our CDN corrupted the installer. It should be fixed now. Get the new version at http://www.xobni.com/download

    As for the upgrade – people using V1.4 and above should be able to install teh new version without uninstalling the old one. We will gracefully upgrade, keeping your settings and won’t have to re-index old items.

    Best,
    Matt

  12. 12 Wayne March 26, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    I had version 1.6.3. The installer said it need to uninstall the previous version and shutddown Outlook. It appears to be re-indexing everything with a complete re-install. So if there was a way to preserve old settings and indexes I sure didn’t see it.

  13. 13 Mark March 26, 2009 at 6:16 pm

    Just upgraded from 1.6 to 1.7 as instructed. When Outlook restarts Xobni sidebar opens but just says loading….. and nothing happens despite waiting 1/2hr. Tried to Index Outlook Mail and message comes up in side bar telling me to “Start Using Xobni” but does not allow me to do anything. Xobni Analytics appears works but nothing else.

    tried install process twice and same issue even using new installer!

    Any ideas? Missing your app’ already.

  14. 14 Paul March 26, 2009 at 7:06 pm

    Guys. I am a current Xobni user and just downloaded the v1.7 and it re-indexed. I checked the web pages that link from your blog post and they both seem to go to the same download page, irrespective of whether the person is a current or new user? The whole re-indexing thing drives me crazy as I spent a great deal of time making sure my index is kept tidy and organised with duplicates. This will be the 4th time I have to go through the tidy-up process. Can you please put more focus into avoiding re-indexing because as much as I love the product I’m getting close to giving the next upgrade a miss due to this issue. Please spend some time on this. Thanks.

  15. 15 Matt Brezina March 30, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    Paul, i’m really sorry to hear the upgrade required re-indexing for you. We spent a lot of time making sure the process would be smooth, so i’m disappointed to hear you didn’t have a great upgrade experience. I’ll reach out to you via email to learn more about what went wrong.

    Mark, same for you. i’ll reach out via email.

    Best,
    Matt

  16. 16 Crazyfinger March 30, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Fast. Much better than previous version. I am using it on Vista on Thinkpad X60s, never turn on the sharing options with social networking sites. Congratulations to Xobni team, you came through…!

    Regards, Crazyfinger

  17. 17 David March 31, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Now a Google map integration would be nice to show the geographical position of the person 😉

    –David

  18. 18 Geert March 31, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Hi Guys,

    Thanks for this great enhancement, I’ve been a user for quite a while.

    This may help you improve the installer:

    1) There’s a annoying glitch in the installer program, depending on what name you saved it with.
    I saved it with the name: XobniSetup v1.7.exe. Installer crashes with an application error (The instruction xxx referencd memory at yyyy. The memory could not be “read”. OK to terminate, Cancel to debug.

    I thought the application was corrupted (and also read about this on the blog), so I waited a week or so. Just downloaded again, same problem.
    Because I saw several people succesfully installing the program, I hoped it wouldn’t be a hardware problem on my side…but it’s not :-).

    Renaming the installers filename to xo.exe did the job (probably any one worded filename will do). Still if you’re a user like me, saving version names in the filename, you will run into this silly and (hopefully) unneeded error.

    2) Also, I was currently using v1.6.3 build 5342 and the installer detected an ‘older’ version on my PC. I had to confirm the complete remove of Xobni and its components before it installed v1.7. Complete indexing was also needed.
    So I guess “just upgrading” is not working (completely) yet.

    Still I expect this upgrade to worthwhile, but I really would make sure “just upgrading is possible”.

    Cheers,

    Geert

  19. 19 Frustrated March 31, 2009 at 4:34 pm

    I’m having the same problem as one other person. I updating to V1.7. All I get is “Loading” and it doesn’t stop. I uninstalled and reinstalled (I didn’t care about the re-indexing). Worked fine the first time, but I just rebooted and I’m experiencing the same problem. I went through all of the trouble shooting suggesting before I uninstalled the program the first time. Frustrating, especially given that I did not have any problems with earlier versions of the program!

  20. 20 Matt March 31, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    @Geert @Frustrated This is great feedback. We’ll share this with QA and they’ll see if they can repro the problem. We’ll ship a fix shortly if we can repro the issue.

    thanks,
    Matt

  21. 21 eugene April 1, 2009 at 5:38 am

    hi,
    it seems that the download link doesn’t work right now. been trying to download with no luck.
    Thanks!

  22. 22 JGurtz April 1, 2009 at 8:44 am

    I think I have a similar problem as Geert and Frustrated. Only thing is I don’t even get a “Loading” message. I just never get an interface. Thankfully I saved the 1.4.3 installer!

    The interesting thing is, if I use your little repair tool to disable Xobni and restart Outlook, there is then a Xobni menu with the single entry “Enable Xobni.” If I click that the Xobni menu disapears and there is still no Xobni sidebar.

    Also, my desktop is set at 120dpi and I wonder if that matters. There are many places in the installer and utility tools where text is cut off or has formatting issues.

  23. 23 Nick April 1, 2009 at 11:16 am

    I found that Office Communicator stopped working after the upgrade – even though all was good under 1.6 – I had to kill both the outlook & communicator process, re-start both apps and all was good again!

    Thanks for the performance improvements 🙂

  24. 24 Koeg April 1, 2009 at 5:31 pm

    1.7 install worked like a charm for me. No re-indexing. No hangs. I had even renamed the installer to XobniSetup 1.7.exe (with space) before running. Anyway, from my little vantage point, everything works well.

    Thanks millions for the tool. It’s saved me lots of times finding names of people:

    “What was that guy’s name? I can’t remember, but he works closely with Tim.”

    “Oh, yeah, it was John. Wee-hoo!”

  25. 25 Koeg April 1, 2009 at 5:33 pm

    Oops, part of my message didn’t show up above because of how I used brackets. Lemme try again…

    “What was that guy’s name? I can’t remember, but he works closely with Tim.”
    ___click Tim’s name___
    ___see contacts related to Tim____
    “Oh, yeah, it was John. Wee-hoo!”

  26. 26 Harvinder April 2, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    I’d love to have the ability to delete emails from the XObni slider window. The option should be either permanently or move them to the trash folder.

    For example when I track them by Conversation or when searching for emails with key words

    Thanks

  27. 27 eugene April 3, 2009 at 5:42 am

    hi,
    unfortunately the downloadlink still doesn’t work for me. 😦 i want to try it out….

  28. 28 John Focht April 3, 2009 at 10:36 am

    While I loved the beta versions, the “gold” version leaves me cold. It doesn’t work with my 28 .pst files. (I have a lot of mail – almost 6 GB, split to avoid the 2 GB limit in Outlook 2003. This also makes Outlook backups a lot easier.)

    If Outlook is running and Xobni is loaded but not active, and I activate Xobni, when I try to access on of my .pst folders I get the following message:

    Unable to expand the folder. The set of folders could not be opened. Contact your administrator if this condition persists.

    or…

    If Xobni is active when I start Outlook, I sometimes get the following message when I try to access a .pst folder:

    Unable to expand the folder. The set of folders could not be opened. The server is not available. Contact your administrator if this condition persists.

    The second problem is intermittent; sometimes it’s only one folder, sometimes it’s all of them. And the “problem” folders don’t seem to have any pattern.

    Finally, I don’t have any problems if Xobni isn’t active, but is loaded into memory.

    Help! I’ve been suffering with this for a week now – can I go back to the last good beta?

  29. 29 John Focht April 6, 2009 at 1:48 pm

    Okay, no response – on blog or by direct contact – from Xobni. Not even “I’m sorry you’re having problems, we’re looking into it.” So I’m removing Xobni 1.7.3 from my laptop, and will try to reinstall the last good beta I have. I can’t wait forever.

    Wish me luck…

  30. 30 John Focht April 6, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Okay, I completely removed 1.7.3 from my PC, then rebooted, and installed Xobni beta 1.6.3 (build 5625). So far, so good – no problems noted with my .pst folders.

    Also, the removal must have been very clean – no complaints from the beta install.

    I look forward to the resolution of my issue. (And maybe a quick email from the company, perhaps?) Until then, I’ll happily use beta version 1.6.3 build 5625.

  31. 31 Mark April 7, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Can someone kindly address the issue mentioned a few times above, where following installation all one gets is “loading” ad infinitum. Never had any such issue with any of the betas.

  32. 32 Matt Brezina April 8, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Hey Mark, John, others, our QA team is currently looking into these and other issues. We have taken feedback from this release, and are rolling it into a refresh release that will be available shortly. Also, we’ll respond on this page if we have specific solutions to the problems you’ve seen.

    Thanks,
    Matt

  33. 33 Like Moku April 9, 2009 at 1:37 pm

    Because of a specific environment at work I am running an ‘unsupported OS version’ (Windows 2003 Server) and Office 2007 for desktop needs. Any older version with exception of the new 1.7 was running great. I tried everything I could find to make 1.7 work, but it won’t. The Outlook.exe process takes 100% of CPU and never let’s go. As soon as I disable the add-on it drops to normal CPU usage. I had to go back to 1.6.3 (build 5625) which is rock solid.

    Love your product and the troubleshooting guide in your support pages was fabulous. I hope you fix the issues and I continue to load the latest versions.

  34. 34 andy April 14, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Install went fine, but I keep getting a pop-up to enter a captcha… only there is no captcha and no box to enter text. I have to press “skip” to keep using Xobni and it keeps popping up.

    Love the product, keep up the good work!

  35. 35 John Focht April 15, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    Matt Brezina –

    I received another email from “you” yesterday announcing a “new” version of Xobni. Does the “new” version address my problems, or is this another flier for the “gold” version?

  36. 36 Guy April 18, 2009 at 11:27 am

    One thing that seems to be missing in your excellant product is the version number in the dwonload. I love to be able to check if I have the very latest point release and currently there is no easy way to see this. For instance I have 1.7.3 (build 6685) installed how can I tell from the Xobni home pages if this is the very latest build????

  37. 37 auro April 20, 2009 at 1:53 am

    hey – thanks for xobni and for making it available, it’s really a great tool.

    when are you adding task management to xobni?
    let’s face it, outlook’s embedded task app is quite crappy…

    a.

  38. 38 Lee April 21, 2009 at 9:12 am

    The installer still says Xobni beta 😉

    Thanks for providing this tool… the xobni search really crushes Outlook’s native search.

  39. 39 John Focht May 13, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    The current version is 1.7.3.6812, and it does NOT fix my problem. How long before another version is issued, and will it address my problem?

  40. 40 Zac May 15, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I solved my “loading…” issue: in Add/Remove Programs, uninstall Xobni. A dialog comes up with a few different options. In “Repair”, I removed all the xobni contact info, and.. well it has to re-index, but at least it works!

    Seems like there’s some incompatibility between the 1.6 config files and the 1.7

  41. 41 John Focht May 27, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Okay, an update. Still no joy – 1.7.3.7053 doesn’t work on my system, either. I continue to use 1.6.3.5625 with success.

    I think I know why Xobni may have problems with my setup. Remember that I have divided my Outlook messages into multiple .pst folders to get around Outlook’s 2 GB “ceiling” on file size. None of my 28 files exceeds 600 MB, and quite a few are less than 100 MB. This allows me to back them up across our network easily – sometimes daily.

    Okay, here’s one possible reason Xobni 1.7.xxxx chokes on my system: in 26 of the 28 .pst files, there is no sub-folder containing the messages – they are in the root directory of each .pst file, sometimes more than 2,000 messages. When you open one of the folders, all messages appear in the root folder; only two folders show under that level (“Deleted Items” and “Search Folders”). Both of these are empty. I did this so that all of my folders are visible in the folder tree view in Outlook.

    I look forward to the resolution of my problem. Xobni is a great product – I’d like to use the most current version!

  42. 42 JGurtz June 23, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Well the 1.7.3.7053 seems to have worked in the “just upgrade” scenario. There are still multiple issues with cut off text in the installer, possibly related to the higher 120dpi setting of my desktop. Particularly, during the captcha section, no buttons are visible on the screen. Thankfully, blindly pressing Enter did the trick, but that’s a bit scary.


  1. 1 Xobni no longer in beta! - frankps Trackback on March 25, 2009 at 4:01 am
  2. 2 Xobni Gets Another $10 Million, Out of Beta Trackback on March 25, 2009 at 9:16 am
  3. 3 Xobni Loses Beta Tag, Adds Speed Trackback on March 25, 2009 at 11:01 am
  4. 4 Tech Whiz Underground » Xobni releases version 1.7 of email management tool Trackback on March 25, 2009 at 7:23 pm
  5. 5 QUANTITATIVC - xobni - series b Trackback on March 27, 2009 at 12:25 am
  6. 6 Xobni emerges from Beta | Jason Slater Technology Blog Trackback on March 27, 2009 at 5:50 am
  7. 7 Mobile News » BlackBerry Partners Fund Invests About $3 Million In Outlook Plug-in Xobni Trackback on April 15, 2009 at 3:07 pm
  8. 8 W-Files » Blog Archive » Office Comunicator 2oo7 R2 “Outlook Integration Error” Trackback on April 16, 2009 at 4:58 am
  9. 9 Xobni Coming To The Blackberry (Leaked Pic) Trackback on April 30, 2009 at 6:48 pm
  10. 10 Techeroid » Xobni Coming To The Blackberry (Leaked Pic) Trackback on April 30, 2009 at 7:01 pm
  11. 11 Xobni Coming To The Blackberry (Leaked Pic) | Stoth Trackback on April 30, 2009 at 7:02 pm
  12. 12 Xobni Coming To The Blackberry (Leaked Pic) | UpOff.com Trackback on April 30, 2009 at 7:22 pm
  13. 13 Xobni Coming To The Blackberry (Leaked Pic) » YoGoG.com Trackback on April 30, 2009 at 7:25 pm
  14. 14 Trade Jim News » Xobni Coming To The Blackberry (Leaked Pic) Trackback on April 30, 2009 at 7:28 pm
  15. 15 Xobni Coming To The Blackberry | Blog YODspica Ltd Trackback on April 30, 2009 at 8:33 pm
  16. 16 Xobni For BlackBerry Client Seen In The Wild Trackback on April 30, 2009 at 10:50 pm
  17. 17 Xobni Coming To The Black (Leaked Pic) | Viningmedia Nieuws Trackback on May 1, 2009 at 8:04 am
  18. 18 Xobni Mobile Client Caught On Camera | blackberryhacked.com Trackback on May 1, 2009 at 12:32 pm
  19. 19 Rimarkale Blackberry - Xobni For BlackBerry Client Seen In The Wild | Free Blackberry Tips Trackback on May 4, 2009 at 3:02 am
  20. 20 Xobni Coming To The Blackberry (Leaked Pic) | iPhone Topic|TechBeta Trackback on June 14, 2009 at 5:46 am

Leave a Reply

Free Download

About Xobni

Xobni’s contact management products offer lightning fast email search and organization of your inbox, as well as an innovative and comprehensive address book for the mobile device.

Categories

Xobni Tweets


